Awards Given by NBSS


Nutan Bal Shikshan Sangh, Kosbad has institued 2 awards since 2017, on the occasion of  125th birth anniversary of Padma Bhushan Tarabai Modak, globally renowned as the Montessori of India.

The second award is in the memory of Padmashri Anutai Wagh an educationist who focussed on early childhood education and brought in transformation to India’s Anganwadi, Balwadi and early school year teaching policy.

This award is given each year with the aim of honouring organizations and individuals who have done outstanding work in the field of education. These organisations and individuals have been awarded Rs 25,000 and a Certificate each. 2017 was the first year of this award ceremony.

List and Details of Awards Given


On the 131st birth anniversary of Tarabai Modak on April 19, 2023, the ‘Padma Bhushan Tarabai Modak Vishesh Sanstha Award’ is presented to Gyan Prakash Educational Project, Latur: – An educational project that is fully self-supporting in child education. Which is a creative project that has been working for the holistic development of children for the past 21 years. In the state level ‘Vanashree’ festival, the school won the prize for six years in a row and the institution was honoured by the then Chief Minister for its excellent performance.

The ‘Padmashree Anutai Wagh Special Person Award’. was presented to Keshav Chander Gavit Sir, ofHiwali village of Trambakeshwar Taluka of Nashik district,  with a population of only 150households. Keshav Gavit sir, has given more emphasis on writing, reading, and calculation activities in such a remote place. He works 365 days from eight in the morning to eight in the night and implements various creative activities to create an elevated level of educational quality among the students so that they are motivated to continue learning.

The awards were presented at a program organized on Tarabai’s birth anniversary i.e., April 19, 2023, at Hotel Pavilion, Shahupuri in Kolhapur. Senior Educationist Principal Purushottam Sheth was present as the Chief Guest in this program.


On Tarabai Modak’s 130th birth anniversary on April 19, 2022, the Padma Bhushan Tarabai Modak Award – 2021 was presented to “Vijaya Tai Aathalye Primary School (Ambernath – East)” which has been functioning since 1985 and has been working for the all-round development of students.

The Padma Shri Anutai Wagh Special Person Award was presented to Dr. Swarnalata Bhishikar, who is a psychology scholar, has written on the topic of reading skill development. She has written extensively in English and Marathi languages and is known as a skilled writer. She has contributed a lot in carrying out experiments related to orchard science, agricultural education, and rural development in the Harli project of Solapur district.

The awards were presented at the Kusumagraj Memorial, Gangapur. Anirudh Deshpande, Chairman, Educational Development Administration Center was present as the Chief Guest.


On Tarabai Modak’s 128th birth anniversary, ‘Padam Bhushan Tarabai Modak Special Institution Award’ was awarded to ‘Sant Vivekananda English Medium School Tarkapur Ahmednagar’

The ‘Padmashri Anutai Wagh Special Person Award’ was presented to Shri Anant Vishnu Majgaonkar, of the all-respected Gnanprabodhini of Pune, in recognition of his 50 years of service in the field of education.

Since it is not possible to organize the event in this Corona pandemic, all dignitaries like Anant Gosavi Sir, Trustee of Nutan Bal Shikshan Sanstha, Aruna Tai Erande, Trustee of the Sanstha, Sham Wagh, all went to Tarkapur Ahmednagar on 19th July 2021 and distributed the Awards.


On Tarabai Modak’s 127th birth anniversary, ‘Padam Bhushan Tarabai Modak Special Institution Award’ was given to ‘Anand Niketan, Nashik’.

The ‘Padmashri Anutai Wagh Special Person Award’ was presented to Honourable Suchita Solanke, Karanja, Washim, in recognition of her charitable work for the children of Pardhi community in the field of education.

As the chief guest in this event, Mr. Sathyaranjan Dharmadhikari (Judge of Bombay High Court) and Prof. Dr. Suchitra Naik (Principal, Joshi Bedekar College, Thane) was present.


On Tarabai Modak’s 126th birth anniversary, ‘Padam Bhushan Tarabai Modak Special Institution Award’ was given to ‘Saraswati Mandir Trust Thane’.

The ‘Padmashree Anutai Vagh Special Person Award’  is bestowed on Mrs. Renu Rajaram Dandekar (Chikhalgaon, Dapoli)

As the chief guest of this program, Smt. Dr. Vijaya Wad (Former Chairman, Maharashtra State Marathi Encyclopaedia Production Board) and Prof. Dr. Veena Sanekar (Head of Marathi Department – Somayya Arts and Commerce College Vidyavihar, Mumbai) were present.


Padma Bhushan Tarabai Modak Special Institution Award was awarded to the ‘Sanskrit Conservation Board, Sharda Nagar, Sagaroli, Nanded.

The Padmashri Anutai Wagh, Special Person Award was awarded to the most respected Shri V N Abhyankar the soul of Gnanprabodhini of Hapunya, in recognition of his 50 years of service in the field of education.

In 2017, the organization and individuals who received this award were selected by the then Chief Editor of Zee 24 Taas News Channel, Mr. Vijay Kuvlekar, and former Principal of Modern College, Pune, Shri. Anant Gosavi.

The program was held at Maharashtra Education Society Auditorium Peacock Colony, Karve Road, Pune.

Smt. Meena Chandavarkar (Senior Education Specialist) and Prof. Meena Tai Gokhale (Former Head of Marathi Department-Ramnarayan Ruia College, Mumbai) were present while the program was presided over by Shri. Chandragupta Pavaskar.


Shikshan Patrika

Sign up to receive PDF version in your mailbox!

Your Subscription of Rs. 300/- goes towards continued efforts of sharing information to Parents and Teachers alike.

Transform a Life

With your help and so many others who have already made donations, we can provide access to education to the truly disadvantaged tribal children.